Topics

New Oxford Blog

Biotechnology & Posthumanism

Finding Security Behind Closed Doors

CULTURAL COUNTERPOINT

Jason M. Morgan

December 2018

The sexbot is a tool that uses us and mocks our weakness. It is a vision of Hell: inhuman, ruthless, mendacious, comfortless, and cold.

VIEW ARTICLE
On Man's Many Attempts to "Kill Death"

SALVATION IN SCIENCE? TRIUMPH IN TECHNOLOGY?

John Lyon

April 2017

VIEW ARTICLE
Are We Living in Georges Bernanos's Utilitarian Nightmare?

MECHANIZATION AS TOTALITARIANIZATION

John Lyon

November 2016

VIEW ARTICLE
Breaking the Species Barrier

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

December 2012

A review of Chimera's Children: Ethical, Philosophical and Religious Perspectives on Human-Nonhuman Experimentation

VIEW ARTICLE
The Bioethics of Fertility & Gender

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

July-August 2012

A review of Fertility and Gender: Issues in Reproductive and Sexual Ethics

VIEW ARTICLE
Gurus of a Post-Human Age

GARRETT HARDIN & JAMES RACHELS

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

January-February 2012

VIEW ARTICLE
Can Thomism Save Science?

SCIENCE & CULTURE -- PART 2

Murray S. Daw

November 2009

VIEW ARTICLE
Human Alienation & Our Biotech Future

Christopher Beiting

October 2007

Review of Aliens in America: The Strange Truth About Our Souls and Stuck With Virtue: The American Individual and Our Biotechnological Future

VIEW ARTICLE
The Baby-Making Industry

GUEST COLUMN

Michael S. Rose

September 2007

The multi-billion dollar artificial-procreation industry is little more than the sick commodification of babies in a throw-away culture.

VIEW ARTICLE
Bio-Luddites & the Secularist Rapture
November 2003

Coming soon to a theater near you: cyborgs. Not on the screen, but sitting next to you in the audience.

VIEW ARTICLE
Further Proof of Bush's Betrayal On Embryonic Stem Cells

GUSET COLUMN

Patrick Delaney

July/August 2002

VIEW ARTICLE
The Surrender of Culture to Technology

Will Hoyt

May 1995

Review of Letters From Lake Como: Explorations in Technology and the Human Race

VIEW ARTICLE