Topics

From the NOR Dossiers

Biotechnology & Posthumanism

Gulliver’s Travels. By Jonathan Swift.

LITERATURE MATTERS

Michael S. Rose

December 2020

Swift’s struldbrugs inspire consideration of the abiding human passion to prolong life indefinitely. But by losing our mortality, do we also lose our humanity?

VIEW ARTICLE
On Nurturing Man’s Spiritual Relationship with Technology

SEARCHING FOR WARMTH IN A COLD, MECHANICAL WORLD

Christopher M. Reilly

November 2020

Technology cannot erase our humanity. We will find a way to live and even flourish in a world saturated with technology.

VIEW ARTICLE
Briefly Reviewed: June 2020
June 2020

Here we review Cyborg Mind: What Brain-Computer and Mind-Cyberspace Interfaces Mean for Cyberneuroethics.

VIEW ARTICLE
A “Deeper Understanding” of the Priesthood?

NEW OXFORD NOTEBOOK

Pieter Vree

November 2019

No temporal or civilizational events can override the sacramental necessity of the Catholic priesthood’s being reserved to men.

VIEW ARTICLE
Finding Security Behind Closed Doors

THE SEXUAL REVOLUTION WAS REALLY ABOUT SELFISHNESS

Jason M. Morgan

December 2018

The sexbot is a tool that uses us and mocks our weakness. It is a vision of Hell: inhuman, ruthless, mendacious, comfortless, and cold.

VIEW ARTICLE
On Man's Many Attempts to "Kill Death"

SALVATION IN SCIENCE? TRIUMPH IN TECHNOLOGY?

John Lyon

April 2017

VIEW ARTICLE
Are We Living in Georges Bernanos's Utilitarian Nightmare?

MECHANIZATION AS TOTALITARIANIZATION

John Lyon

November 2016

VIEW ARTICLE
Breaking the Species Barrier

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

December 2012

A review of Chimera's Children: Ethical, Philosophical and Religious Perspectives on Human-Nonhuman Experimentation

VIEW ARTICLE
The Bioethics of Fertility & Gender

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

July-August 2012

A review of Fertility and Gender: Issues in Reproductive and Sexual Ethics

VIEW ARTICLE
Gurus of a Post-Human Age

GARRETT HARDIN & JAMES RACHELS

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

January-February 2012

VIEW ARTICLE
Can Thomism Save Science?

SCIENCE & CULTURE -- PART 2

Murray S. Daw

November 2009

VIEW ARTICLE
Human Alienation & Our Biotech Future

Christopher Beiting

October 2007

Review of Aliens in America: The Strange Truth About Our Souls and Stuck With Virtue: The American Individual and Our Biotechnological Future

VIEW ARTICLE
The Baby-Making Industry

GUEST COLUMN

Michael S. Rose

September 2007

The multi-billion dollar artificial-procreation industry is little more than the sick commodification of babies in a throw-away culture.

VIEW ARTICLE
Bio-Luddites & the Secularist Rapture
November 2003

Coming soon to a theater near you: cyborgs. Not on the screen, but sitting next to you in the audience.

VIEW ARTICLE
Further Proof of Bush's Betrayal On Embryonic Stem Cells

GUEST COLUMN

Patrick Delaney

July/August 2002

Christians and pro-lifers need to wake up to the betrayal by politicians who advance immoral researchers' agendas in an incremental, yet deliberate fashion.

VIEW ARTICLE
The Surrender of Culture to Technology

Will Hoyt

May 1995

Review of Letters From Lake Como: Explorations in Technology and the Human Race

VIEW ARTICLE