Thirteen and Counting

Many U.S. states have already banned or widely restricted abortion since Dobbs


Life Issues

As of today, thirteen U.S. states have banned or widely restricted abortion after the Supreme Court’s ruling on Dobbs. Tennessee, the thirteenth, has a six-week “heartbeat” ban and next month may see a trigger-law ban go into effect that protects the unborn starting at conception.’s Steven Ertelt offers a list (June 28) of the states that sprang into action even before Tennessee:

Texas and Oklahoma had banned abortions before Roe was overturned, and Missouri became the first state after Roe to protect babies from abortions and South Dakota became the 2nd. Then Arkansas became the third state protecting babies from abortions and Kentucky became the 4th, and Louisiana became the 5th and Ohio became the 6th, and Utah became the 7th and Oklahoma became the 8th, and Alabama became the 9th. Yesterday, Mississippi became the 10th and South Carolina became the 11th.

Ertelt points out that another thirteen states are expected to pass similar legislation.

The whole article can be found here: Tennessee Becomes 13th State to Ban Abortions After Supreme Court Overturns Roe –


Barbara E. Rose is Web Editor of the NOR.

From The Narthex

Hope in Ratzinger's Prophecy

Disappointing election results may prompt Catholics to retreat to the Church for reminders that the…

Church, State, and the Virus

Common sense is often in short supply. Far too many people go about their daily…

Random Ruminations #7

“Sex Work,” Trafficking, and Trucks Pamela Paul reports in the New York Times (Aug. 17)…