Topics

From the NOR Dossiers

Chesterton

Snapshots from a Religious & Literary Pilgrimage

A ROUND OF VISITS ACROSS DECAYING CHRISTENDOM

Kenneth Colston

April 2019

We travel under the pretense of being receptive, really looking for what we think we already know. Yet we are occasionally genuinely surprised.

VIEW ARTICLE
What Is & What Ought to Be

ON HUMANISM & BEING HUMAN

James V. Schall

November 2018

Man does not make himself. Rather, as Aristotle remarked, he is already man when he begins to wonder what he is and why he is as he is.

VIEW ARTICLE
The Many Identities of GKC

Chene Richard Heady

June 2014

A review of G.K. Chesterton: A Biography

VIEW ARTICLE
The Optimistic Pessimism of G.K. Chesterton

Chene Richard Heady

September 2012

A review of The Collected Works of G.K. Ches­ter­ton, Volume 36: The Illustrated London News, 1932-1934

VIEW ARTICLE
Chesterton's Journey to Orthodoxy

Anne Barbeau Gardiner

November 2010

Review of Chesterton and the Romance of Orthodoxy: The Making of GKC 1874-1908 by William Oddie

VIEW ARTICLE
What Is a Patriot to Do?

John C. Chalberg

March 2004

Review of The Collected Works of G.K. Chesterton: Volume XX

VIEW ARTICLE
The Wisdom of Silliness

A HINT OF HEAVEN

Mitchell Kalpakgian

May 2003

VIEW ARTICLE
Adventure Stories

John C. Chalberg

February 2001

Review of Literary Converts: Spiritual Inspiration in an Age of Unbelief

VIEW ARTICLE
Falling Off Chesterton's Chariot

ON THE LOSS OF CATHOLIC IDENTITY

Marian E. Crowe

November 1996

VIEW ARTICLE
G.K. Chesterton, a Curmudgeon for Our Times

UNDENOMINATIONAL RELIGION & OTHER FOLLIES

Jean Bethke Elshtain

March 1994

VIEW ARTICLE
Distributism's Significance for Our Present Social Predicaments

James J. Thompson Jr.

May 1989

Although Chesterton cultivated a streak of romanticism and delighted in excursions into fantasyland, the source and inspiration for distributism lay elsewhere.

VIEW ARTICLE
The Chester-Mugg Tradition

Maclin Horton

January-February 1988

Review of The Collected Works of G.K. Chesterton; Vol. I and Vintage Muggeridge edited by Geoffrey Barlow

VIEW ARTICLE
Chesterton: A Literary Babe Ruth

Pete Sheehan

July August 1986

GKC won not only a popular following but also the respect and admiration — if not always the agreement — of serious intellectual and literary figures of his time.

VIEW ARTICLE
A Chestertonian Adrift in an Ideological World

CONFESSIONS OF AN APOSTATE

Christopher Derrick

November 1985

If you favor the cause of orthodoxy or tradition in Catholic faith and morals, you should break the close link that exists between that cause and the cause of the political Right.

VIEW ARTICLE
G.K. Chesterton’s St. Francis of Assisi

CHRISTIAN CLASSICS REVISITED

James J. Thompson Jr.

October 1984

St. Francis was that rarest of revolutionaries: one impelled by love rather than by hatred veneered with the catchwords of brotherhood.

VIEW ARTICLE
Re-evaluating Chesterton

Arthur Livingston

January-February 1984

Alzina Stone Dale wrote the first in what one hopes will be a spate of books re-eval­uating G.K.C. and elevating him to his deserved place in English letters.

VIEW ARTICLE