A New Catholic Community

October 2006

"My name is Victoria Rue. And I am a Roman Catholic womanpriest."

So began Sunday Mass on April 2, 2006, at the Spartan Memorial Chapel at San Jose State University in California. Concelebrating with Victoria Rue was Don Cordero, a married former Jesuit priest. For those present, this was a momentous occasion: It was the inaugural Mass of a "New Catholic Community" that, says Rue, reverences people who "seek authenticity and inclusion in the worship ceremony, who have experienced divorce and remarriage, who are diverse in sexual orientation, who seek progressive exploration of ideas, who want imagination and daring, who are concerned deeply about God's creation and how to preserve it and who seek personal and spiritual integrity." According to the San Jose State campus newspaper, the Spartan Daily (April 4), this "first official gathering" drew "about 30 participants," of whom "most were elderly."

The high point of this Mass, during which God was referred to as "She," was the vibrant music, Rue told the Spartan Daily, and "when we each turned to face one another, looked one another in the eyes, and then hugged each other [and] said, ‘this is my body, this is my blood'…."

Momentous indeed. To those 30 or so souls present, this was the dawning of a new day: A real Roman Catholic Mass presided over by an actual female priest!


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



New Oxford Notes: October 2006

Read our posting policy Add a comment
Should not April First have been the appropriate date for her concelebrated "mass".

However, in the Lancaster [UK] Diocese - now financially bust - I have, to the point of not being able to differentiate, witnessed a Mass concelebrated with laity. The paris priest a self-proclaimed liturgist was, inter alia, educated in Paris.
Posted by: sixupman
October 12, 2006 07:36 AM EDT
>>So began Sunday Mass on April 2, 2006, at the Spartan Memorial Chapel at San Jose State University in California.<<

NO NO NO! The article should have begun: "So begin the *simulated* "Mass" on April 2, 2006 . . .

[... for which Victoria Rue automatically received a latae sententiae penalty of inderdict according to canon 1378, section 2 of the 1983 Code of Canon Law]"
Posted by: parochus
October 27, 2006 08:41 AM EDT
A new Mass by a woman, hmmm. Are not many of our Catholic priests acting lke women, anyway. This just completes the cycle.

A doubtfully valid "new mass" can be done by a doubtfully valid "new priest". So, does it really matter when an "invalid priestess/heretic, who is not a Catholic says an "invalid mass?

Invalid plus invalid equals invalid! Who cares.

Just point the finger wjere it belongs, the Holy Father who no longer, since "the council", teaches true catholicism. Stop getting angry at those who explicitly reject orthodoxy when the guy in Rome denies his own God given authority and allows the choas to get worse. Therefore, I say, the seat is vacant!
Posted by: wfrancis
November 13, 2006 09:05 PM EST
'wfrancis' pontificates on the assumption that the 'new Mass' (Novus Ordo) is 'doubtfully valid' or 'invalid.' When one reasons from the datum of a false assumption -- as wfrancis does, everything he concludes must necessarily be false -- as it is in this case. The only factual conclusion one can reach is that 'wfrancis' is a schismatic of the sedevacantist stripe. Posted by: nortemp
November 14, 2006 06:46 AM EST
Add a comment


©