Embarrassing & Contradictory

February 2007

George A. Kendall has written another long-winded article, titled "More on New Oxford Review," in The Wanderer (Dec. 7, 2006). The other long-winded article appeared in The Wanderer (Aug. 24, 2006), and the NOR replied (Oct. 2006, pp. 14-15).

In his first article, Kendall accuses the NOR of being "Calvinists." The question before us is: Does God hate unrepentant sinners? In his first article, Kendall says, "Certainly, the whole theme of God hating sinners [Ed. Note: unrepentant sinners] fits in very well with the Calvinist doctrine that some are predestined to be damned…." That God hates unrepentant sinners has nothing to do with the Calvinist doctrine that God predestined people to Hell before the foundation of the world. In the doctrine of predestination, you can repent all you want, but if God has predestined you to Hell, there is nothing you can do about it. Rather, this has to do with free will. In Catholic doctrine, God gives us free will, so we can repent or not. God's grace is abundant, and He loves us if we repent. Kendall got free will and predestination mixed up. This is elementary theology. He was just embarrassing himself.

In Kendall's second article, he accuses the NOR of a hint of "Pelagianism." Calvinism teaches that God predestines people to Hell or Heaven. Pelagianism teaches that man is capable of securing salvation by his own powers, without God's grace. Calvinism and Pelagianism are opposites. In his second foray, Kendall again accuses the NOR of "Calvinism." Go figure.

In the NOR (letters section, June 2006, p. 19), Kendall quotes Jesus: "You have heard that it was said, 'You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.' But I say to you, Love your enemies…." Kendall says that "we bloody well better love" our enemies. Kendall repeats this in his first Wanderer article.


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



New Oxford Notes: February 2007

Read our posting policy Add a comment
So Mr Kendall has judged the N.O R.staff and usurping God's role has sent you all to hell as demons deserve. He has forgotten as have many Catholics "Judge not, lest ye so be judged" Posted by: mike hurcum
February 01, 2007 11:33 AM EST
"God is love." It is impossible for God to hate any of His creatures, because His nature is perfect love. This is impossible for us to understand, but this what the Church teaches. To say God "hates" is to pronounce heresy. When God "loved Jacob but hated Esau" the author was decribing God's "reaction" to the character of the two, "nothing personal involved here". God is also perfectly just and will punish us for any unrepented "deadly" sins. It is not within our mental capability to reconcile His love with His justice.
In the past I've agreed with what the NOR has printed, but I think you are very wrong to say God hates anyone. It's just not His nature.
Posted by: joreill
February 07, 2007 10:50 AM EST
I believe that George Kendall is predestined to eventually use his free will to understand Truth and eventually write for NOR. Posted by: gwolak
February 14, 2007 03:48 AM EST
God does hate, but only in a figurative sense. God is love and justice and mercy (and so much more). Unrepentant sin is so diametrically opposed to love, justice, and mercy that the word 'hate' aptly expresses this opposition. But since God sent His Son to die for us while we were yet unrepentant sinners, it cannot be said that God merely hates unrepentant sinners. God loves unrepentant sinners so much as to die for them in Christ.

Scripture says: "You have hated those who practice emptiness to no purpose. But I have hoped in the Lord." (Psalm 30:7). God's love toward unrepentant sinners is also just, so that the figure of hatred is apt because of sin. But notice that any sinner can still hope in the Lord, because God's love toward even unrepentant sinners is not a figure of speech.
Posted by: ronconte
February 28, 2007 08:32 AM EST
Add a comment


©