Sock It To Us! Fling Us Into That Brier-Patch!

May 2006

You've probably heard of Pete Vere. He has had a book published by Our Sunday Visitor Books and a book published by Servant Books, now owned by St. Anthony Messenger Press. He also writes frequently for The Wanderer. But please don't confuse him with Pieter Vree, the NOR's Deputy Editor.

On Vere's Internet blog, The Lidless Eye Inquisition (Feb. 16 and 17), he socks it to the NOR because of our critique of Michael O'Brien of Canada. O'Brien wrote an article in another magazine where, according to Vere, he "warned [that] the homosexual agenda was leading to a new totalitarianism in Canada." Vere says, "the folks at NOR made use of their first ammendment [sic] rights to attack O'Brien and other Catholics from Canada for standing up to the gay agenda." In our February 2006 issue, we published a long article revealing "The Truth About the Homosexual Rights Movement," and as a result, we've been directly threatened by a homosexual. No First Amendment rights will protect us from violence.

Vere says the "New Oxford Review are useful idiots of the gay agenda." Huh?

On a post commenting on Vere's complaint, Ben Yachov, who is all over the Internet denouncing the NOR and who is a big fan of Scott Hahn, says: "He [Dale Vree] accuses Scott Hahn of believing Jesus has two Mommies.... What a truly QUEER belief system Heir [sic; it's Heer in Dutch] Vree holds to." Vere responds: "Since NOR loves the term 'fag,' if they were gay would that make them a 'Fag Rag'?" Whoa!

Yes, we realize that Vere is highly emotional, but we wish he would calm down. We never criticized O'Brien, let alone other Catholics, for standing up to the "gay" agenda. Vere is referring to our New Oxford Note "Hysteria Central" (Oct. 2005). The essence of our critique of O'Brien was this: "Michael O'Brien is an accomplished Catholic novelist. His strength is fiction. In The Catholic World Report (April), he ventures into nonfiction, specifically political science, and what he writes turns out to be fiction as well. He writes about 'The New Totalitarianism' that is already here or on its way because of 'hate' crimes legislation and same-sex 'marriage.' The NOR has spoken out against active homosexuals (even calling them fags, rump rangers, and light in the loafers), and as a result subscriptions have been canceled. And the NOR has spoken out against 'hate' crimes legislation and same-sex 'marriage' several times, but they do not portend a 'New Totalitarianism.' O'Brien doesn't understand that there is no such thing as a perfect democracy. For example, in the U.S., women didn't get the right to vote until 1920, during World War II Japanese-Americans were held in internment camps, in 2000 Al Gore got the popular democratic vote but because of the Electoral College George W. Bush became President, filibustering in the Senate thwarts the will of the majority, our two-party system is less democratic than multi-party systems, the Mormons are still not allowed to practice their religion freely (i.e., polygamy), there is still no provision for selective conscientious objectors (which accords with the Just War teaching of the Catholic Church), and because of a recent Supreme Court ruling your home can be seized by private developers. Moreover, the Supreme Court — whose members are not elected, are not accountable to the people, and serve for life — can veto legislation passed by the people's representatives and can veto initiatives passed by the people themselves. But none of this means that America was not or is not a democracy, that America was or is a totalitarian state or that it is headed toward totalitarianism."


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



New Oxford Notes: May 2006

Read our posting policy Add a comment
Talk about assumptions?

Who ever confirmed beyond a reasonable doubt that there is such a thing as a Gay Gene. The one guy that tried named Dean Hamer was discredited by his peers let alone Dean had a big stake in Gay's as he outed himself as a Gay.

This is about BEHAVIOR and for an article as today's or any day by Catholics to give legitimacy to Gays/Homosexuality and in so doing imply its the will of God is beyond the pale.

Folks there is man/woman. That's all! That's all there is in the human race. Get over it, that's it! You cannot prove otherwise.

Lets attack Behavior. If we continue to legitimize behavior we will generate a totalitarian state as free speech is quelled to expose undue destructive behavior.

So called Gays are not only destroying society they are destroying themselves in the process both physically and mentally.
Posted by: paulc37
May 01, 2006 12:46 PM EDT
Our Lord told us to first remove the log in our own eyes, and only THEN worry about our brother's, as all men are sinners.To judge without sufficient evidence is unwise, as well as un-Christian.

All of this could have been avoided had Pete simply comprehended what he had read. Perhaps that was too much to ask.
Posted by: lyricmac
May 01, 2006 10:28 PM EDT
It seems as though Pete Vere protests too much. I wonder why?? Maybe he has a bit of a gay problem himself. Anyway..let he who is without sin cast the first stone.. Posted by: ascension51
May 01, 2006 11:10 AM EDT
With all charity, I must add a piece of relevant information. Pete Vere's book on the SSPX was decidedly one-sided. There was so much information missing from the book, I must assume that either he is unable to perform basic research for a scholarly book, or he deliberately withheld pertinent information. Posted by: sgraessle
May 22, 2006 09:08 AM EDT
The only "useful idiot" in this matter is Pete Vere.

Posted by: Chapman
June 01, 2006 09:58 AM EDT
Ed Peters' defense of Mr. Vree is excellent and should be read in its entirety. Actually, what Mr. Peters really did wasn't so much a defense of Mr. Vree as it was a public scolding of Mr. Vere. Mr. Vere got the message and toned it down a bit. Posted by: Fr_Richard
August 06, 2006 08:27 PM EDT
Please do not cop out of this with selected and out of context bible quotes "take the log out of your eye" or "we are all sinners".

Do you have a log in your eye if your kids want to play in a busy street and you say no?

If your kids start using drugs do you say we are all sinners and let them continue their destructive ways?

We let Gays into our Church and we are reeling from their sexual abuse of our children and trashing of our liturgy. The consequences will go on for years. Our Church Hierarchy is now in cover-up two by not "vetting" the problem of Gay infiltration to the highest levels with an again totally ignorant Laity i.e. Don't worry be happy. We continue to sell off our assets to pay now unfortunately, what seems as greedy, revenging victims. Why is money vehicle the retribution used to heal these wounds? How can it ever be a curative salve. Impossible! It has got to make it worse.

Cover-up # 3 is now unfolding as Gays from outside push hate laws that will let them in effect back into the Church. Again silence from our hierarchy.

In Europe the Gay sexual onslaught is just getting exposed. This ongoing sexual abuse and already enacted hate speech laws have destroyed the Church in Europe.

Do we Naively think it will not occur in the U.S.?

Silence still is the order of the day from our Priests,Bishops, Cardinals and a trying Pope

Finally does anyone really care about the Gays? We care about Alcoholics, Drug Users, Gang Members who may be family or friends? We do all you can to help them to get back on the path of good.

Not so with Gays. We turn a silent voice and a blind eye to let them wallow in their filthy sex with the consequences of HIV/AIDS. These kids(our kids,grandkids etc)are dying, committing suicide as early as their teens. If they survive, to receive treatment , they eventually will incur liver/heart,kidney etc life long problems. They are a threat not only to themselves but all society as they are susceptible to all kinds of highly drug resistant disease they could pass on to the general population.

Its time to"Take the log out of our eyes"!
Posted by: paulc37
February 05, 2008 08:24 AM EST
Free elections and totalitarianism are not incompatible.

One would think the 20th century never happened. Fascists? Cummunists? Woodrow Wilson?

C'mon. What's going on in Canada is nothing more than progressivism run amok. Again.
Posted by: hoosiertoo
February 05, 2008 07:06 PM EST
Add a comment