What Happened to Rick Santorum?

January 2007

We admire Rick Santorum. According to an article in National Review (Nov. 6, 2006), his wife, Karen, "became pregnant with a child who was diagnosed in the womb with a fatal condition. The couple refused to consider abortion. Their son, Gabriel, died two hours after delivery." He has six children, who are homeschooled, and he is a daily communicant at Mass.

We also admire Santorum's style. Santorum says of himself: "I'm a passionate guy. I'm tough. I'm a fighter."

On the other hand, Bob Casey Jr. (Santorum's opponent in the Senate race in Pennsylvania in Nov. 2006) is colorless, dull, lackluster, a moderate Democrat, a moderate Catholic, and, as The Wall Street Journal observed (Aug. 24, 2006), Casey has "bobbed and weaved on Iraq."

Casey supports the morning-after pill (Plan B); Santorum opposes it. Casey favors same-sex civil unions; Santorum opposes them. Santorum supports a constitutional amendment outlawing "gay marriage"; Casey opposes it. On all these issues, Santorum is right.

According to National Review (Nov. 6, 2006), "In a September poll, 54 percent said that they respect Santorum for sticking to his principles." Well, mostly.

Santorum "won a House seat in 1990 with a campaign that lambasted the Democratic incumbent for living in Virginia" (The New York Times, Oct. 31, 2006). Now Santorum's family lives mostly in Virginia. Hmmm.


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



New Oxford Notes: January 2007

Read our posting policy Add a comment
ricky ricky ricky Posted by: gespin3549
January 01, 2007 01:08 PM EST
When are Catholics going to wake up and realize the Constitution Party is the ONLY Party willing to tackle NWO, abortion, etc. the CP will restore America to the closest-politically-to Subsidiarity and Distributism. By not poking our snots in others business, we will make far less enemies. Posted by: catholicresistence
January 10, 2007 01:28 PM EST
Had Senator Santorum remained true to his principles in 2004, perhaps he'd still be a Senator and Specter would be retired. Posted by: Fr_Richard
January 13, 2007 08:16 PM EST
The editor may admire Santorum but I'll save my admiration for his wife. This (nameless, of course) woman, is the one raising and homeschooling HIS six children. His wife does the real work while he ran around lusting for power until it inevitably corrupted him.

Perhaps Sanotorum was spared by God and denied the chance to sink further.
Posted by: Caroline
January 29, 2007 09:03 AM EST
The article actually does mention her name : Karen [Santorum]. Posted by: Mike Ezzo
January 29, 2007 09:59 PM EST
I agree with "catholicresistence" who posted the comment above (on January 10, 2007) about the Constitution Party. Bush and buddies damned with faint praise candidates who had more conservative principles. I still remember the GOP primary race in 2004 in Pennsylvania where Bush through his support behind Arlen Specter, a former Democrat.

http://www.constitutionparty.com/
Posted by: j17ghs
September 27, 2007 10:35 PM EDT
Add a comment