TYRANNY OF THE MINORITY
The Consequences of Ending 'Discrimination' Against Homosexuals

December 2010By Kenneth D. Whitehead

Kenneth D. Whitehead is a former U.S. Assistant Secretary of Education. His most recent books are Affirming Religious Freedom: How Vatican Council II Developed the Church’s Teaching to Meet Modern Needs (St. Paul’s/Alba House, 2010) and The Renewed Church: The Second Vatican Council’s Enduring Teaching about the Church (Sapientia Press of Ave Maria University, 2009).

On October 12, 2010, Virginia A. Phillips, a U.S. district judge in Riverside, California, issued an injunction against the enforcement by the U.S. military of the law authorizing the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy. This policy dictates that homosexuals are not to reveal their “sexual orientation” since open homosexuals are precluded from military service under the law. Judge Phillips found this to be discriminatory and hence she ruled that the ban on open homosexuals in the military “infringed on the fundamental rights” of gay and lesbian members of the armed forces. The Department of Defense (DOD) promptly announced that the court’s decision would be “obeyed,” and the current ban on service by open homosexuals no longer enforced.

Both the existing policy, as well as the current law behind it (now judged to be discriminatory), were considered compromise solutions at the time they were put in place in the early 1990s. President Bill Clinton had tried but failed to allow open homosexuals to serve in the military, and the present law was put in place instead. The resulting compromise policy, however, continued to be controversial. Homosexual rights groups have never ceased to agitate against it, while on the other side hundreds of retired generals and admirals have publicly warned that acceptance of open homosexuals in the military would disrupt military effectiveness, particularly unit cohesion.

The pressures to do away with the ban have nevertheless continued to be intense. At least one previous court decision called for the reinstating of an officer who was dismissed because she was a lesbian. In late September, just days before Judge Phillips issued her injunction, an attempt to repeal the law by means of an amendment added to the current DOD appropriations bill failed to garner a sufficient number of votes in the Senate (after having been approved by the House).

Both during his campaign for the presidency and after taking office, President Barack Obama has plainly indicated his opposition to the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy. His favored method for abolishing it, however, was by means of repeal legislation. As he explained at an MTV forum, “This is not a situation where with the stroke of pen I can end the policy.” Not even the Obama administration wanted to see the law annulled by an injunction issued by a single federal district court. Upon assuming control of the White House, the Obama administration ordered a DOD study on the consequences of making the change, after which a judicious decision was presumably going to be made. This study was to be completed by December 2010.


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



Back to December 2010 Issue

Read our posting policy Add a comment
The author is absolutely correct which makes him politcally incorrect. But still correct. People will be hurt severely when the homosexual agenda is fully implemented. It will create a division is our country which could get out of hand. Best would be left to every person to hold their own opinion and live by it without being harrassed by the gays and government. Posted by: John Wyatt
December 29, 2010 11:16 PM EST
Fr.True,

Since you are a member of the clergy of the Anglican church [page 3, http://www.theparish.org/images/deus/deusdirectory2-19-09.pdf], I'd say that in my opinion, you are expressing somewhat the official stand of that church [or 'Anglican Confession' as former Cardinal Ratzinger would say in some of his writings]. And although I could never claim expertise on this subject, my impression and perception is that this issue about homosexuality is one of the most, if not THE most, complicated one in the current segment of human drama confronting Christianity in general, and the Catholic Church - the one with historical verifiability of continuity from Saint Peter all the way to the present Pope - in particular. It is the most misunderstood phenomenon by the secular world, but not the Catholic Church.
Superpowers, it doesn't matter who happens to have a grip on such earthly political power at any given time in history, are always vulnerable to the winds of change unless they have at least the minimum willingness to ponder and reflect on what the true Church established by our Lord Jesus Christ says about it, since He, Himself did promise that He will always be with His Church till the end of time, and that not even the gates of hell will prevail against it.
Well, even for a mediocre - but observant - mind like mine, it should not be that complicated to see that confusing humanity, specially those who would prefer to be cunning and manipulative in the use of power for subtle hegemony (whether it's the 7th Fleet that roams around the high seas no different than the bully around the block who question every motive of others but demand that their motive be trusted without question; or the World Bank-IMF which promises poor countries to deliver 'quality of life' if only they would agree to murder their unborn babies like they themselves do; or the USAID-CIA that has a formidable structure to detect moral weaknesses of poor countries' leaders not stop them from corruption but to find avenues for imperial intereference], is one of those avenues pursued by the 'gates of hell' to prevail against His Church - the Catholic Church, where the FULLNESS OF TRUTH will stay, in spite of the many weaknessess demonstrated by the members of the Mystical Body [starting with my poor self, a truly useless servant, :-)].
So, to my simple mind [perhaps in wishful imitation of St. Francis of Assissi in addressing himself the 'simplex et idiota' [see page 157 of The Theology of History in St. Bonaventure by Joseph Ratzinger where it says: "...It is only in the Church of the final age that St. Francis' manner of life will triumph. As the simplex and idiota, FRANCIS KNEW MORE ABOUT GOD THAN ALL THE LEARNED MEN OF HIS TIME--BECAUSE HE LOVED HIM MORE.], even if there is a big chasm between the sanctity of his soul and my fragile one], there appears to be a parallel similarity between how the Western superpowers are accused of trying to 'contain' a rising oriental power [whether the oriental power does need checking for confrotational motive or might turn out to be more morally upright, is not the question here] and how they [or 'it'] and how they aim to 'contain' the divinely instituted Catholic Church through the propagation of homosexuality, with all its abominable incursions into every sector of human enterprise.
And since, like in all kinds of battle - earthly or spiritual - regrouping among allies or estranged brethrens becomes imperative for better survival and stronger counter-assault against the enemies of Christianlity, and knowing Christian unity will never take place through the Anglican Confession, I humbly recommend that you contemplate on the official Church position on this matter. Here are a few links:

CONSIDERATIONS REGARDING PROPOSALS
TO GIVE LEGAL RECOGNITION
TO UNIONS
BETWEEN HOMOSEXUAL PERSONS
http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cfaith/documents/rc_con_cfaith_doc_20030731_homosexual-unions_en.html

LETTER TO THE BISHOPS OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH
ON THE PASTORAL CARE OF HOMOSEXUAL PERSONS
http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cfaith/documents/rc_con_cfaith_doc_19861001_homosexual-persons_en.html

Vatican document on homosexuals and seminaries-- full text [unofficial translation]
http://www.catholicculture.org/news/features/index.cfm?recnum=40891

Our Lord prayed that we may be One. Be assured that Catholics at different levels of intellectual capacities, theological propensity and state of sanctity are praying for that.
Posted by: humblesoldier2
January 28, 2011 06:47 PM EST
Rev.True,
Since you are a member of the clergy of the Anglican church [page 3, http://www.theparish.org/images/deus/deusdirectory2-19-09.pdf], I'd say that in my opinion, you are expressing somewhat the official stand of that church [or 'Anglican Confession' as former Cardinal Ratzinger would say in some of his writings]. And although I could never claim expertise on this subject, my impression and perception is that this issue about homosexuality is one of the most, if not THE most, complicated one in the current segment of human drama confronting Christianity in general, and the Catholic Church - the one with historical verifiability of continuity from Saint Peter all the way to the present Pope - in particular. It is the most misunderstood phenomenon by the secular world, but not the Catholic Church.
Superpowers, it doesn't matter who happens to have a grip on such earthly political power at any given time in history, are always vulnerable to the winds of change unless they have at least the minimum willingness to ponder and reflect on what the true Church established by our Lord Jesus Christ says about it, since He, Himself did promise that He will always be with His Church till the end of time, and that not even the gates of hell will prevail against it.
Well, even for a mediocre - but observant - mind like mine, it should not be that complicated to see that confusing humanity, specially those who would prefer to be cunning and manipulative in the use of power for subtle hegemony (whether it's the 7th Fleet that roams around the high seas no different than the bully around the block who question every motive of others but demand that their motive be trusted without question; or the World Bank-IMF which promises poor countries to deliver 'quality of life' if only they would agree to murder their unborn babies like they themselves do; or the USAID-CIA that has a formidable structure to detect moral weaknesses of poor countries' leaders not stop them from corruption but to find avenues for imperial intereference], is one of those avenues pursued by the 'gates of hell' to prevail against His Church - the Catholic Church, where the FULLNESS OF TRUTH will stay, in spite of the many weaknessess demonstrated by the members of the Mystical Body [starting with my poor self, a truly useless servant, :-)].
So, to my simple mind [perhaps in wishful imitation of St. Francis of Assissi in addressing himself the 'simplex et idiota' [see page 157 of The Theology of History in St. Bonaventure by Joseph Ratzinger where it says: "...It is only in the Church of the final age that St. Francis' manner of life will triumph. As the simplex and idiota, FRANCIS KNEW MORE ABOUT GOD THAN ALL THE LEARNED MEN OF HIS TIME--BECAUSE HE LOVED HIM MORE.], even if there is a big chasm between the sanctity of his soul and my fragile one], there appears to be a parallel similarity between how the Western superpowers are accused of trying to 'contain' a rising oriental power [whether the oriental power does need checking for confrotational motive or might turn out to be more morally upright, is not the question here] and how they [or 'it'] and how they aim to 'contain' the divinely instituted Catholic Church through the propagation of homosexuality, with all its abominable incursions into every sector of human enterprise.
And since, like in all kinds of battle - earthly or spiritual - regrouping among allies or estranged brethrens becomes imperative for better survival and stronger counter-assault against the enemies of Christianlity, and knowing Christian unity will never take place through the Anglican Confession, I humbly recommend that you contemplate on the official Church position on this matter. Here are a few links:

CONSIDERATIONS REGARDING PROPOSALS
TO GIVE LEGAL RECOGNITION
TO UNIONS
BETWEEN HOMOSEXUAL PERSONS
http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cfaith/documents/rc_con_cfaith_doc_20030731_homosexual-unions_en.html

LETTER TO THE BISHOPS OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH
ON THE PASTORAL CARE OF HOMOSEXUAL PERSONS
http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cfaith/documents/rc_con_cfaith_doc_19861001_homosexual-persons_en.html

Vatican document on homosexuals and seminaries-- full text [unofficial translation]
http://www.catholicculture.org/news/features/index.cfm?recnum=40891

Our Lord prayed that we may be One. Be assured that Catholics at different levels of intellectual capacities, theological propensity and state of sanctity are praying for that.
Posted by: humblesoldier2
January 28, 2011 06:49 PM EST
I don't agree with the writer's argument that allowing homosexuals to serve in the armed forces and being honest about their sexual preferences will result in 'a mass exodus of military personnel' who don't want to serve with gays, or that the policy will result in reduced recruitment for the armed forces. The writer is disguising his hatred of gay people under a cloak of religious piety. I am not gay and I don't condone same-sex marriages or gay ordinations. However, I do believe in our Constitutional guarantees of equal justice under the law. Posted by: frtrue@newwavecomm.net
December 29, 2010 10:05 AM EST
Frtru is wrongly assuming hatred to the author. I have detected not the slightest evidence of hatred in the article. If the 'frtru' is indeed concerned with justice perhaps he needs to refresh his knowedge of the true meaning of justice and then modify his proposition. According to our Catechism (CCC 1805) "in righteousness shall you judge your neighbor". Imagine that! We are required to actually judge! And this is required by the Church and Scripture itself. Homosexuality is gravely disordered and a direct result of original sin (concupiscence). Homosexual acts are gravely sinful, and, if unrepented, may consign one's immortal soul to Hell for eternity. Justice is those things which we owe to Almighty God without reserve. Mortal sin and objective disorders are not included in those things. Obedience to His law is. Posted by: squishee
December 29, 2010 04:41 PM EST
Add a comment