BY THEIR FRUITS YOU SHALL KNOW THEM
'Diabolic Disorientation' in the Church

October 2006By Erven Park

Erven Park, of Toledo, Washington, is a widowed father of eight children (one a monastic priest). He is the past publisher of the Catholic Truth and Catholic Intersect journals, and provided documentation to and testimony before the official Vatican Commission that investigated and ruled on the ministry of Archbishop Raymond Hunthausen of the Archdiocese of Seattle.

Only the utterly oblivious Catholic would not realize that something is devastatingly amiss in the Church in our present day. Those having a true insight into the depth and magnitude of the current aberrations are left with no reasonable alternative than to recognize that a diabolic presence has been allowed to enter into the Church. It has been publicly testified to by Pope Paul VI as the "smoke of Satan." Nonetheless, Christ Himself promised: "I will not leave you orphans, I will come to you" (Jn. 14:18). The gravity of our day is illuminated by the fact that Christ has sent no less than His own Mother to provide us guidance.

In the rural Portuguese village of Fatima in 1917, our Holy Mother Mary appeared to three unschooled children (ages 7, 9, and 10) over a period of six months, and related to them monumental events that are still playing out in our day, precisely as they were foretold 89 years ago.

These accurately prophesied events include: The "miracle of the sun" witnessed by over 70,000 persons (including non-believers hoping to dispel the apparitions), whereby the sun itself was dislodged from its setting and performed miraculous maneuvers while emitting astonishing light displays; the end of World War I; the name of the pope who would be reigning at the beginning of World War II; the extraordinary heavenly phenomenon that would be witnessed worldwide foretelling of the beginning of World War II; the ascendance of Russia (a weak and insignificant nation in 1917) to an evil monolithic power that would afflict the world with suffering and death; the arrival of "apostasy" in the Church by her own hierarchy, a work in process in our present day.

Most readers ought to be aware of the messages conveyed by Holy Mary at Fatima -- e.g., the need for conversion and repentance, the need for the faithful to fortify themselves against the diabolic via the Holy Rosary, the requirement that the Holy Father consecrate Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary, the very dire consequences should these commands be ignored or circumscribed, etc.


You have two options:

  1. Online subscription: Subscribe now to New Oxford Review for access to all web content at newoxfordreview.org AND the monthly print edition for as low as $38 per year.
  2. Single article purchase: Purchase this article for $1.95, for viewing and printing for 48 hours.

If you're already a subscriber log-in here.



Back to October 2006 Issue

Read our posting policy Add a comment
This is the most important article that has ever been printed in NOR. I know of which the author speaks, I have researched in extensively, to the point where I had to desist, my dismay was so great.
I urge all true Catholics to read about the approved Akita, Japan apparition wherein the Blessed Virgin repated the message of Fatima.

She warned Sister Agnes of the apostasy in the hierarchy of the Church; obviously the Most High sent her, AGAIN. Please heed her warning, please pray the Rosary. I was converted by this very simple prayer and remain convinced of its efficacy.

Do we need more articles, more debate? No, we need to heed the Virgin who pleads in every approved apparition for prayer and penance. "Do what ever He tells you," directs God's Mother. Before we accomplish that, we have to do whatever she tells us.
Posted by: Caroline
October 06, 2006 08:53 PM EDT
Good article. Is there further documentation on the point that Our Lady wanted the 3rd Secret revealed no later than 1960? I have heard endless claims and counter-claims--diabolical disorientation?---about that. Thank you.
Posted by: Chapman
October 03, 2006 10:50 AM EDT
we often hear that after every council there is a hundred years of turmoil and that it's not the council's fault but the council's unfortunate intersection with a tumultuous 60's. either way, one can't deny that VII was responsible one way or another, or that the seeds of the crisis go back at least to the time of st. pius x.

i believe the liturgical crisis we are going through will not resolve itself for some time to come. for the reason that there is no consensus on what to do with the 'reform of the reform' or the tridentine movement. everyone, including the pope, have unique positions.

for now, i'm sticking with the divine liturgy, it's beautiful and set in stone.
Posted by: awacs
October 03, 2006 02:43 PM EDT
Awacs, what were you referring to when you wrote "divine liturgy?"

email me at gespin3549@gmail.com with a reply if you see this. we're desperate here in monticello, ny looking for a church where the people understand the concept of reverence.
Posted by: gespin3549
October 04, 2006 11:31 AM EDT
The "divine liturgy" is what Byzantine-rite Catholics, as well as other Eastern rite Catholics and Orthodox churches call their "Mass."

Whereas the Roman rite has gone through all sorts of changes in recent decades and is often subject to various silly interpretations, the Divine Liturgy retains the reverence of years and ages past.
Posted by: nortemp
October 05, 2006 03:35 AM EDT
Good article! But is it too good to be true? I am puzzled by two apparent inconsistencies.

First, I could find no reference to apostasy in the official version of the Third Secret of Fatima. The article alleges that “In the Third Secret it is foretold … that the great apostasy in the Church will begin at the top.” Mr. Park cites Mario Cardinal Ciappi as his source for this information. Can this be substantiated further? Is Cardinal Ciappi using an alternative interpretation of the published message or is he aware of additional parts of the Third Secret that didn’t get revealed?

Second, the official version explains that Sr. Lucia wrote on the envelope containing the Third Secret that it should be opened after 1960. Sister Lucia admitted that Our Lady did not tell her to do this but that it was her own intuition that prompted her to make this request. The article alleges that “Our Lady asked that the Third Secret be made known to the faithful at the latest by 1960 …” Which version is correct? Did Our Lady make the request? Was the revelation to be made before or after 1960?

I hope the author if this article or someone at NOR can help me sort this out. I would hate for the credibility of the New Oxford Review to be undermined by its own hand.


Posted by: jkoenig
October 07, 2006 09:55 AM EDT
RE: Post by jkoenig. First a question, “too good to be true,” what is that taken to mean? In any event, you are right to point with concern to “inconsistencies” between what you refer to as the “official version” of the Third Secret released by the Vatican (June 2000), and that which is reported in this writing. The obvious question then becomes what testimony can be proven to being inconsistent? On this particular subject, the empirical public documentation on record shows the “inconsistencies” emanating directly from the involved Vatican principals and not that of the Fatima principals whose public testimonies are recorded as consistent.

You question the veracity of the testimony of Cardinal Ciappi, who had read the Third Secret, as to whether the “apostasy” in the Church “will begin at the top.” May we offer up the words of no less than Pope Paul VI given in a speech just prior to his death:
Pope Paul VI, Address on the Sixtieth Anniversary of the Fatima Apparitions, October 13, 1977
“The tail of the devil is functioning in the disintegration of the Catholic world. The darkness of Satan has entered and spread throughout the Catholic Church even to its SUMMIT. Apostasy, the loss of the faith, is spreading throughout the world and into the highest levels within the Church.” (Emphasis added).

Pertaining to the Third Secret being revealed after 1960. Inasmuch as you are computer competent may I suggest you Goggle the following words: [Third Secret of Fatima – 1960]. You will come up with over 100,000 links most all of which I advise will support the veracity of this request. As to ABP (now Cardinal) Bertone’s singular assertion in the so-called official release of the Third Secret, that the request for the release after 1960, originated from the “intuition” of Sr. Lucy rather than from Holy Mary is to be totally and absolutely inconsistent with the voluminous records existing of the writings and public statements of Sr. Lucy herself. Moreover it totally violates the known humility and obedience of Sr. Lucy to assert that she would take such liberties with instructions having a divine source and cataclysmic consequences were it to be incorrectly represented and/or implemented.
Posted by: nevre7
October 19, 2006 04:41 PM EDT
I went to a Catholic High School that was an epicenter of child sexual abuse. This article resonates deeply, and I believe it offers excellent guidance. I think NOR should examine the Legionaries in light of this analysis. Their organization was founded by a gay pervert, and all that they do is corrupted. There is no future for them. Posted by: tmcmurtry
October 31, 2006 09:28 PM EST
First, I want to thank nevre7 for the thoughtful and thorough response to my questions. I am reluctant to impute dishonesty to a divinely originated institution but perhaps that is the only reasonable explanation. I will continue to read, use Google, and try to distinguish between scoundrels and scholars.

In answer his or her question about my remark “too good to be true,” I was edified by Mr. Park’s article, particularly because he provided specific answers to long-unanswered questions. Nothing he said clashed with my incomplete knowledge on the subject so I thought his piece was good. When I discovered the inconsistencies between the Vatican’s statements and Park’s assertions, I realized that someone was not telling the truth and I did not know who.

The people I admire most are those who fearlessly seek truth and proclaim it with love and humility. That probably explains why I a drawn to the NOR and this forum.
Posted by: jkoenig
November 02, 2006 10:09 PM EST
Caroline is right, we need to start following what Our Lady said. Pray the Rosary every day, and also wear the Scapular -- they are inseparable. (In the final vision Our Lady held out both of them.) Try to practice confession on the first Saturday of five consecutive months. And pray for and petition the Vatican for the (proper) Consecration of Russia : by the pope in communion with ALL the bishops in a solemn PUBLIC ceremony, and ONLY for Russia. Sister Lucy emphasized many times that She asked for Russia specifically and solely; not the whole world. Take Sister Lucy's advice, as well, and do not wait for the heirarchy to instruct you to follow these devotions.
Posted by: Mike Ezzo
November 17, 2006 05:41 AM EST
Did Pope John XXIII call the Council in order to initiate diabolic disorientation, in other words, setting in motion the warning contained in the Third Secret of Fatima? The focus on Russia seems confirmed by the rising level of neo-Stalinism in this country as a source of evil permeating the Church and world. Posted by: j17ghs
November 20, 2007 02:41 PM EST
I am a former sadevacantist.
Much of what I am reading in the post as well as the above article has the same ill wind of discontent that blows so pofoundly amongst those disillusioned with changes in the Church...granted that the changes may be questionable...
Read the history of the Church...she has survived worse and will yet survive any onslaught of Satan. She is Christ's Bride...immaculate and pure. We her children...her members are in need of reform and purification...sanctification.
Do not let nay sayers deceive you. Trust, pray and sacrifice.
Posted by: stphilomena
December 09, 2009 03:10 PM EST
stphilomena, it's great that you have abandoned the error of sede vacantism. However, the implicit logical argument you seem to be making - that criticism of churchmen (even just a frank calling-out of the obvious facts) leads to sede vacantism does not hold water. The facts of this article are spot-on, although much is not explored. Please read "The Secret Still Hidden" for probably the best source for the absolutely * incontrovertible* evidence that part of the Third Secret (the really important part) has been suppressed.

The Church is indeed Christ's bride, and in Her actual nature is indeed spotless and pure. However, Our Lady at Akita said "The Devil will infiltrate even into the Church". This apparition is fully-Church-approved. So, how do you reconcile the two? Your notion of what is protected by the Holy Spirit may need some adjustment, for it is only official teaching that enjoys the charism of infallibility. The documents of Vatican II very specifically and intentionally avoided invoking that charism. And that is exactly how the Holy Spirit protected the Church.

God bless.
Posted by: PaulF
January 27, 2013 02:27 PM EST
Add a comment